For Immediate Release:
Sept. 19, 2018
OTS Marketing and Public Affairs
Sept. 23-29 is Child Passenger Safety Week
Week dedicated to educating parents, caregivers on child seat safety
For any parent or caregiver, it is important to understand how to choose and properly install the right car seat for your child.
Next week is Child Passenger Safety Week, and the California Office of Traffic Safety (OTS) is supporting efforts by health and law enforcement agencies, community organizations and traffic safety partners to educate parents and caregivers on child seat safety.
“Child safety seats save lives, which is why it is so important they are used properly,” OTS Director Rhonda Craft said. “We encourage parents and caregivers to take advantage of resources available to make sure you’ve done everything right to protect your child when they are traveling by car.”
Child Passenger Safety Week, which runs from Sept. 23-29, culminates with National Seat Check Saturday on Sept. 29. On this day, Certified Child Passenger Safety Technicians will be available at car seat check events across California to show parents and caregivers how to install car seats correctly, as well as provide guidance on choosing the right car seat.
In passenger cars, car seats reduce the risk of an infant being killed in a crash by 71 percent, and toddlers by 54 percent. While many parents use car seats properly, 59 percent of car seats are misused in a way that can reduce their effectiveness.
The California Office of Traffic Safety offers tips for parents and caregivers so they can be sure their child is safe and secure:
- Get the right car seat (rear-facing, forward-facing or booster) for your child’s age, weight and height.
- Read the car seat manufacturer’s instructions and vehicle owner’s manual.
- Keep your child in a rear-facing seat as long as possible. California law requires children under 2 years old, weighing under 40 pounds and under 40 inches tall, to ride in a rear-facing car seat.
- Children 12 and under should always ride in the back seat.
- Register your car seat with the manufacturer so you can be notified in the event of a recall.
To find a seat check education program in your area, visit https://www.nhtsa.gov/equipment/car-seats-and-booster-seats under “car seat inspection.”
The California Highway Patrol will also be holding seat check events statewide. For more information, contact your local CHP office. To locate the one closest to you, visit www.chp.ca.gov and click “Find An Office.”