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Click It or Ticket Sign Changes Across State 
 Added to Law Enforcement Mobilization in Effort to Save Lives
Cost of Seatbelt Ticket Rises to $132
SACRAMENTO – Keep you and your family safe and $132 in your wallet by making sure everyone wears their seat belt for every trip.  That’s the message that over 90 local police departments and the California Highway Patrol (CHP) are telling motorists as part of the 2009 Memorial Day Next Generation Click It or Ticket mobilization, May 18-31.  The start-of-summer campaign is supported by $3 million in traffic safety grants awarded by the California Office of Traffic Safety (OTS) through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.

The Next Generation Click It or Ticket campaign relies on aggressive enforcement and public education as a means to help California achieve the highest seat belt use rate in the nation.  California’s 2008 seat belt use rate stands at 95.7 percent, well above the national average of 83 percent.

 “We’re doing very well with more than 95 percent seat belt use and child safety seat use at 94.4 percent,” said Christopher J. Murphy, Director of the California Office of Traffic Safety.  “However, that still leaves more than a million Californians vulnerable in the event of a crash, when all it takes is two seconds to buckle up.” 

Tickets for seat belt violations went up January 1st to $132 for adults and $435 for children under age 16. The more than 600 Click It or Ticket roadside signs throughout California are currently being updated with the new ticket cost.  The previous ticket price topped out at $91 for adults and $350 for children.

California has a primary seat belt law which requires that every passenger in the car, including the driver, is required to wear a seat belt at all times.  If stopped and found to be in violation, law enforcement will issue citations without warning.  Additionally, children age 12 and under are required to ride properly restrained in the back seat and those under age 6 or 60 pounds must be in proper child safety or booster seats.

 “It’s critical that all drivers and passengers buckle up on every ride, day and night,” said CHP Commissioner Joe Farrow.  “Our officers will be on the lookout for those who are not buckled up and for teens and children not riding properly restrained. No exceptions or excuses.  It’s Click It or Ticket, because the consequences otherwise are too costly.  Statistics from last year’s Memorial Day Maximum Enforcement Period alone show that more than half of those killed were not wearing seat belts.” 

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration estimates that the lives of 1,791 Californians were saved by seatbelts last year.  Those not properly restrained stand an average 50 percent greater chance of being killed than those who buckle up.  While the seat belt use rates for adults in California has increased steadily since 2004, the teen seat belt use rate still falls short, with only 89.6 percent of teens buckling up in 2008.

Several traffic-related departments within the Business, Transportation and Housing Agency are working together to promote Next Generation Click It or Ticket.  The California Highway Patrol will lead the state's enforcement efforts, changeable message signs operated by the California Department of Transportation (Caltrans) will carry "Click It or Ticket" messaging during much of the campaign, as will LED screens in various field offices operated by the Department of Motor Vehicles. 
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