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IMPORTANT CHANGES TO CHILD SAFETY SEAT LAW  

EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1 
 

Age that children must remain in a booster seat has increased to age 8. 

 

The California Office of Traffic Safety is reminding parents, caregivers, and drivers to take note of a 

new law aimed at saving more lives and preventing more injuries of children across the state.  

Beginning January 1, children under age eight must be properly buckled into a car seat or booster seat, 

and in the back seat.   Previously, the law required that children remain in a booster seat until the age of 

six or they weighed sixty pounds.   

 

“This is an important new law that will impact more than 1.1 million children in California,” said 

Christopher J. Murphy, Director of the California Office of Traffic Safety. “Keeping them in booster 

seats increases their chance of surviving a crash by 45 percent.”  

 

A coalition of child traffic safety organizations, including the Office of Traffic Safety, California 

Department of Public Health, California Highway Patrol, Safe Kids California, local law enforcement, 

public health agencies and fire departments are working together to make sure all those who need this 

updated information will receive it.  Hospitals, day care centers, pediatricians, and local community 

service organizations are just a few that will be targeted. 

 

“Although we know that placing children in age- and size-appropriate seats is the best way to reduce 

serious and fatal injuries, progressing children from rear-facing and forward-facing car seats to booster 

seats can be confusing,” added Dr. Ron Chapman, Director and State Health Officer, California 

Department of Public Health. “There is a Child Passenger Safety Coordinator available at your local 

public health department who can refer you to a fitting station where you can learn how to properly 

install child safety seats in the family car.” 

 

(more) 
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The ticket price for violating this law is significant.  For each child under 16 who is not properly 

secured, parents (if in the car) or the driver, can be ticketed for more than $475 and receive a violation 

point on their driving record. 

 

To save emptying your pocketbook or, more importantly, your child’s life, complying with the law 

should be inexpensive. Most children impacted by the new law can remain in the booster seat they 

already have. If it is necessary to buy a new one, low back boosters can be purchased at major retailers 

for $15 to $20 each. 

 

A booster simply “boosts” the child up in order to make the adult-sized belt safely fit a child-sized 

body.  If the belt crosses the child's stomach instead of the hip bones, the child can be severely injured 

by the belt itself if involved in a collision. 

 

A child fits an adult seat belt when: 
 

 They can sit against the vehicle seat back with their knees bent without slouching and can 

comfortably stay in this position throughout the trip 

 The lap belt is low on the hips touching the upper thighs and  

 The shoulder belt crosses the chest, but is not on the face or neck 

 Never let your child put the shoulder belt behind their arm or back.  In a crash, the child could 

sustain major injuries including head and spinal cord injuries.  If the child is putting the 

shoulder belt behind them, this is a sign that they still need a booster 

 

For more information about car seats, the new law or help in determining if your child still needs a 

booster seat, call your local health department or visit www.cdph.ca.gov/vosp or 
http://www.ots.ca.gov/Child_Passenger_Safety.asp 

 

### 

 

ATTENTION EDITORS:  Below is a list of local contacts in major  metropolitan areas who can speak 

about the new law and show the differences in types of seats, sizes of children and proper installation. 

 

Fresno Area 

Kim Wilson 

Technician/Instructor 

559-307-0504. 

kim@babysafefresno.com 

 

Bay Area 

Carol Powers, MA 

Child Passenger Safety Program Coordinator John Muir Health 

Office: 925-941-4263 

Cell: 925-212-3119 

carol.powers@johnmuirhealth.com 

 

LA Area 

http://www.cdph.ca.gov/vosp
http://www.ots.ca.gov/Child_Passenger_Safety.asp
mailto:carol.powers@johnmuirhealth.com


James M. DeCarli 

Coordinator, Safe Kids Los Angeles 

Child Passenger Safety Seat Coordinator 

Department of Public Health 

Los Angeles County 

3530 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 800 

Los Angeles, CA 90010 

Tel: (213) 351-7846 

Cell:  (323) 491- 6197 

jdecarli@ph.lacounty.gov 

 

Helen Arbogast 

Injury Prevention Coordinator  

Trauma Program, Children's Hospital Los Angeles 

4650 Sunset Blvd. MS #100, Los Angeles, CA 90027  

Phone 323-361-4697, Fax 323-361-3534   

harbogast@chla.usc.edu 

 

San Diego 

Contact Carols Delgado, Media Relations (858) 493-5980 who will contact the spokesperson: 

 

Sacramento 

Jennifer Rubin 

Instructor/Technician 

Cosumnes Fire District 

916-997-0946 

JenniferRubin@csdfire.com 

 

mailto:harbogast@chla.usc.edu

