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Sacramento Area Law Enforcement Announce Second Wave Results of 
Regional Texting and Handheld Cell Use Campaign 

 
Phone in One Hand. Ticket in the Other. 

 

Sacramento – Law enforcement in the Sacramento region recently concluded the second of three waves of 
their special high visibility driver hand-held cell phone and texting enforcement campaign, “Phone in One 
Hand. Ticket in the Other,” and the results are in.   
 
The California Office of Traffic Safety (OTS) announced today that 4,750 drivers were cited for texting or 
talking with a hand-held cell phone between February 25 and March 10.  This total compares to the first 
wave of the special enforcement efforts November 29 to December 9 of last year, during which 3,008 were 
cited. 
 
“With better weather and more enforcement days, we expected more citations compared to last December,” 
said Christopher J. Murphy, Director of the California Office of Traffic Safety.  “What we really hope to see 
is a drop in cell phone related crashes in the coming year, along with the suffering and tragedies that go with 
those crashes.” 
 
“Phone in One Hand. Ticket in the Other” is a year-long enforcement campaign to reduce distracted driving on 
roadways in the Sacramento region. This was the second of three maximum enforcement periods in a pilot 
program using the region to test tactics that may be employed nationally in the future.  OTS was awarded 
$600,000 in federal funds for these special high visibility law enforcement operations.  The last special 
enforcement wave will be conducted June 17-30, 2013. 
 
The California Office of Traffic Safety, the California Highway Patrol, and the 37 local police departments 
from Modesto to Marysville, Vallejo to South Lake Tahoe that partnered in this latest effort are also joining 
with hundreds of law enforcement agencies across the state in April for National Distracted Driving 
Awareness Month. 
 
“Between this special regional enforcement and April’s statewide high visibility enforcement, Sacramento 
area drivers can’t miss the “Phone in One Hand. Ticket in the Other” message,” said Murphy. 
 

(more) 
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Distracted drivers talking on a hand-held cell phone or texting receive a first-time ticket costing a minimum 
of $159, with a second offense costing $279.  The goal of the special enforcement operation is not to issue 
citations, but to raise awareness of the dangers of distracted driving and to keep drivers from being 
distracted by their phones in the first place. 
 

• Turn off your phone and/or put it out of reach 
• Include in your outgoing message that you can’t answer while you are driving 
• Don’t call or text anyone at a time when you think they may be driving 

 
For more information on distracted driving, please visit www.distraction.gov/sacramentoregion.  
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