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California’s 2011 

Click It or Ticket 

Seat Belt Enforcement Campaign

Frequently Asked Questions 
(FAQ)
Q:
When is California’s Click It or Ticket campaign?

A:
California’s 2011 campaign takes place May 23-June 5 and again in the fall surrounding the Thanksgiving holiday travel period – November 27-December 11. During this time, law enforcement statewide will be actively looking for drivers and passengers who are unbuckled.
Q:
What is the fine for a seat belt violation in California?

A:
The fine for a first time adult seat belt violation is a minimum of $142.  For children under 16, the fine is a minimum of $445 for a first time offense.

Q:
What is California’s current seat belt use rate?

A:
California’s adult seat belt use rate for 2010 is at an all time high of 96.2 percent, up from the 2009 rate of 95.3 percent.  California’s teen seat belt usage rate is also at an all time high of 94 percent.
Q:
Has the Click It or Ticket campaign been successful in California?

A:
Yes.  Since the campaign first began in California in 2005, the state’s seat belt use rate has increased from 90.4 percent in 2004 to 96.2 percent in 2010.  
Q:
How does seat belt use vary in California?  Are some areas better than others?

A:
Yes.  According to the 2010 California seat belt use survey, Calaveras County had the highest usage rate of the 39 counties surveyed at 100 percent, with Lake County having the lowest seat belt use rate at 87 percent.

Q:
Will law enforcement in my area be issuing seat belt citations for Click It or Ticket?

A:
Yes.  More than 140 local law enforcement agencies, in addition to the California Highway Patrol, will be actively looking for seat belt violators and will issue citations without warning.  During high enforcement mobilizations during FFY 2010 (October 1, 2009-September 30, 2010), 9,389 seat belt citations were issued.
Q:
If a child is riding unrestrained and the parent is not in the car, who gets the ticket?
A:
When children under age six are not properly secured in a vehicle, the parent or driver can receive ‘one point’ on their driving record, in addition to a ticket of $445 on a first offense.  If the parent is not in the car, the driver gets the ticket.
(more)

Q:  
Are seat belts really that effective in preventing injury and death?

A:
Yes!  When used correctly, seat belts reduce the risk of fatal injury by 45 percent for front seat passenger car occupants – and by 60 percent for pickup truck, SUV and van occupants.  Additionally, motorists are 75 percent less likely to be killed in rollover crashes if they are buckled up.

Q:
Who is least likely to buckle up?

A:
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), men are less likely than women to buckle up.  This is especially true of young men.  In 2009, 55 percent of men 18 to 34 killed in passenger vehicles were not buckled up.
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