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California’s 2010 

Click It or Ticket 

Seat Belt Enforcement Campaign

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
Q:  
What is Click It or Ticket?

A:  
Click It or Ticket is a seat belt enforcement campaign which utilizes public education with enforcement over a relatively short period of time.

Q:
When is California’s Click It or Ticket campaign?

A:
The upcoming fall campaign will take place November 15-28 surrounding the Thanksgiving holiday travel period and again in May 2011 leading up to Memorial Day weekend. 

Q:
What is the fine for a seat belt violation in California?

A:
Currently the fine for a first time adult seat belt violation is a minimum of $142.  For children under 16, the fine is now at least $445 for a first time offense.

Q:
What is California’s current seat belt use rate?

A:
California’s adult seat belt use rate for 2010 is 96.2 percent, up from the 2009 rate of 95.3 percent.  California’s teen seat belt use rate for 2009 is 91.1 percent, well below the adult belt use rate.

Q:
Has the Click It or Ticket campaign been successful in California?

A:
Yes.  Since the campaign first began in California in 2005, the state’s seat belt use rate has increased from 90.4 percent in 2004 to 96.2 percent in 2010.  In the last four years alone, it is estimated that more than 1.25 million more motorists in the state have begun buckling up regularly.  However, there are an estimated 1.25 million Californians who continue to drive without the lifesaving protection of seatbelts.
Q:
How does seat belt use vary in California?  Are some areas better than others?

A:
Yes.  According to the 2010 California seat belt use survey, Calaveras County had the highest observed usage rate of the 39 counties surveyed at 100 percent, with Lake County having the lowest seat belt use rate at 87 percent.

Q:
Will law enforcement in my area be issuing seat belt citations for Click It or Ticket?

A:
Yes.  More than 150 local law enforcement agencies, in addition to the California Highway Patrol, will be actively looking for seat belt violators and will issue citations, without warning.

Q:
If a child is riding unrestrained and the parent is not in the car, who gets the ticket?
A:
When children under age 16 are not properly secured in a vehicle, the parent or driver can receive ‘one point’ on their driving record, in addition to a ticket of $445 on a first offense.  If the parent is not in the car, the driver gets the ticket

Q:
Why do some of the road signs in California still say that the seat belt fine is $80-$91 if the fine is now $142?

A:
More than 600 permanent Click It or Ticket highway signs, which have been up since 2005, are currently being updated to reflect the new ‘Minimum $142’ amount.
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