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California’s 2009 Click It or Ticket Seat Belt Enforcement Campaign

Facts and Figures
· California’s 2008 seat belt use rate is 95.7 percent, up from 94.6 percent in 2007.  According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), the national average in 2008 was 83.3 percent, a gain from 82 percent over 2007 (California Office of Traffic Safety (OTS) and NHTSA).
· Since the Click It or Ticket campaign began in California in 2005, California’s seat belt use rate has increased from 90.4 percent in 2004 to 95.7 percent in 2008. In the last four years alone, it is estimated that approximately more than 1.25 million more motorists in the state have begun buckling up regularly (OTS). 
· California’s 2008 teen seat belt use rate is 89.6 percent, up slightly from the 2007 teen rate of 88.9 percent (OTS).
· California’s 2008 child safety seat usage rate is 94.4 percent – a significant increase from the 2007 rate of 87.7 percent (OTS).

· The cost for a seat belt violation in California for unbuckled vehicle occupants over age 16 recently increased from a range of $80 to $91 to a set $132 (California Department of Motor Vehicles). 
· When children under age six are not properly secured in a vehicle, the parent or driver can receive ‘one point’ on their driving record, in addition to a ticket of $435 on a first offense.  If the parent is not in the car, the driver gets the ticket (DMV). 

· California is one of 27 states with primary enforcement seat belt laws as of June 30, 2008 (NHTSA Center for Statistics and Analysis DOT HS 811 036).






