Skip to Main Content
Menu
Contact Us Search
Office of Traffic Safety

2009 Click It or Ticket

2007 COIT
OTS Director Murphy speaks at the
2007 national Click It or Ticket kickoff
event in Washington, D.C. along with
NHTSA Administrator Nicole Nason.

It only takes two seconds to buckle up.  Two seconds!  And those two seconds could literally save your life.  They will also keep you from getting a ticket and a fine.

Law enforcement throughout California will be looking for drivers and passengers who don’t buckle up during the “Click It or Ticket” seat belt enforcement campaign.  They will be on the lookout for drivers and passengers - including passengers in the back seat, day and night.

“Click It or Ticket” debuted in California in 2005, and since then the state’s seat belt use rate has increased from 92.5 percent in 2005 to 95.3 percent in 2009, representing over one million more vehicle occupants who have started buckling up.

The cost of an adult seat belt violation in California costs $142, and up to $445 for not properly restraining a child under 16.  If the parent is not in the car, the driver gets the ticket.

So when you load up the family for a road trip, a trek across town or just driving to school or work, please do so safely – day and night.  Don’t put your own life at risk, or the life of your family or friends.  Buckle up.

“Click It or Ticket” is a cooperative effort among the five traffic safety-related departments under the state’s Business, Transportation and Housing Agency: the California Highway Patrol, Office of Traffic Safety, Department of Transportation, Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, and the Department of Motor Vehicles.