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PRESS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: 






        August ##, 2016
CONTACT:  [Names, Agency, phone #, email address] 

This Labor Day, Remember: Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over

 The Avoid the ## [Your] County DUI Task Force Shows Zero Tolerance 

In Its Goal to End Drunk Driving
This Labor Day weekend, families and friends will be celebrating the end of the summer. Sadly, this festive time has also become a dangerous time for America’s roads, as many drunk drivers get behind the wheel after celebrating. For this reason, the [your] County DUI Task Force is partnering with law enforcement agencies throughout the county and state to stop drunk drivers and help save lives. The high-visibility national enforcement campaign, Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over, runs August 19-September 5, 2016. During this period, local law enforcement will show zero tolerance for drunk and drugged driving. Increased national messaging about the dangers of driving drunk, coupled with sobriety checkpoints and increased officers working DUI saturation patrols on the road, aim to reduce impaired driving on our nation’s roads.
The Avoid the ## will deploy # DUI/Drivers License checkpoints and another ## DUI saturation patrols to stop and arrest alcohol and drug impaired drivers during the end of summer 18 day DUI campaign.  Police, Sheriff and the California Highway Patrol’s routine patrols will be on looking for the tale-tell sign of drunk driving in order to stop and arrest impaired drivers.
In 2014, California recorded 882 alcohol involved deaths. During the 2014 Labor Day holiday weekend, 40 percent of the fatalities in traffic crashes involved drunk drivers, which was the highest percentage of the previous five years. Nighttime proves to be the most dangerous time to be out on the roads. During the 2014 Labor Day holiday period, 83 percent of drunk-driving crash fatalities occurred between 6 p.m. and 5:59 a.m. 
“People should understand that drunk driving is deadly, illegal, and totally socially unacceptable,” said [Local Law Enforcement Leader]. “Drunk driving is a massive problem in the United States, with more than 10,000 people dying annually across the country. Drivers need to pay attention to their own driving, but also to others on the road who could be driving impaired,” [he/she] added. “It is your business. If you think you see a drunk driver, report them – call 911.” 

The Avoid the ## DUI Task Force reminders everyone:
· Plan a safe way home before the fun begins. 

· Before drinking, designate a sober driver. 

· Drivers are encouraged to download the Designated Driver VIP, or “DDVIP,” free mobile app for Android or iPhone.  The DDVIP app helps find nearby bars and restaurants that feature free incentives for the designated sober driver, from free non-alcoholic drinks to free appetizers and more.  The feature-packed app even has social media tie-ins and even a tab for the non-DD to call Uber, Lyft or Curb.

· DRUGS, MEDICATION & ALCOHOL = CRASHES:  Recent statistics reveal that 30 percent of drivers in fatal crashes had one or more drugs in their systems. A study of active drivers showed more tested positive for drugs that may impair driving (14 percent) than did for alcohol (7.3 percent).  Of the drugs, marijuana was most prevalent, at 7.4 percent, slightly more than alcohol. 
· If you know someone who is about to drive or ride while impaired, take your friend’s keys and help them  make other arrangements to get to where they are going safely.
As the summer winds to an end, remember that there’s no excuse for impaired driving. If you choose to break the law, police, sheriff and CHP officials will see you before you see them. Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over.

Avoid the ## DUI Task Force funding is provided by a grant from the California Office of Traffic Safety, through the National Highway Traffic Safety.
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