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California’s Distracted Driving Awareness Month

March 2012
Distracted Driving Facts

Research on distracted driving reveals some surprising facts:

· “Distraction” is a specific type of inattention that occurs when drivers divert their attention from the driving task to focus on some other activity instead.  (Source: Overview of the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration’s Driver Distraction Program).

· The No.1 source of driver inattention is use of a wireless device. (Source: Virginia Tech/NHTSA) 

· Drivers who use hand-held devices are four times as likely to get into crashes serious enough to injure themselves. (Source: Insurance Institute for Highway Safety) 

· Driving while using a cell phone reduces the amount of brain activity associated with driving by 37 percent. (Source: Carnegie Mellon) 

· Using a cell phone while driving, whether it’s hand-held or hands-free, delays a driver's reactions as much as having a blood alcohol concentration at the legal limit of .08 percent. (Source: University of Utah) 

California Data
· As of March 2012, California is one of 35 states including the District of Columbia, and Guam to ban text messaging for all drivers. Twelve of these laws were enacted in 2010 alone.

· California is among nine states, including the District of Columbia, and the Virgin Islands, that actually prohibit all drivers from using handheld cell phones while driving.

· During April 2012, more than 225 local law enforcement agencies, including the CHP, will be conducting ‘zero tolerance’ enforcement mobilizations as part of California’s Distracted Driving Awareness Month. 

· The fine for a first time texting or hand-held cell phone violation is a minimum of $159, with subsequent tickets costing at least $279.  Total costs in some counties may be even higher.
· California law enforcement agencies wrote over 475,000 texting and hand-held cell phone tickets in 2011 alone.

· OTS is launching a new statewide distracted driving public education campaign for adults. It includes paid media, social media, grassroots outreach and heavy media relations. It brings attention to the finding that 37 percent reduction of brain activity by someone using a cell phone with being a distracted driving “zombie.”

· Research from the Safe Transportation Research and Education Center (SafeTREC) at the University of California, Berkeley, shows that, when looking at state crash records two years before and two years after the hand-held ban went into effect, overall traffic deaths declined 22 percent while hand-held cell phone driver deaths went down 47 percent. Similar results were shown for hands-free cell phone use as well as injuries in both categories.
· Forty percent of California drivers reported they talk less (handheld and hands free) since the enactment of the hand-held cell phone ban. 
· In February 2010, the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) reported similar results from their telephone survey which found that 44 percent of drivers in states with bans reported they don't use phones (hand-held or hands-free) when driving, compared with 30 percent in states without such laws.
National Data
· In 2010, 3,092 people were killed in crashes involving driver distraction, and hundreds of thousands were injured. (NHTSA) 

· In the month of June 2011, more than 196 billion text messages were sent or received in the US, up nearly 50% from June 2009. (CTIA) 

· Teen drivers are more likely than other age groups to be involved in a fatal crash where distraction is reported. In 2009, 16% of teen drivers involved in a fatal crash were reported to have been distracted. (NHTSA) 

· 40% of all American teens say they have been in a car when the driver used a cell phone in a way that put people in danger. (Pew) 

· Drivers who use hand-held devices are 4 times more likely to get into crashes serious enough to injure themselves. (Monash University) 

· Text messaging creates a crash risk 23 times worse than driving while not distracted. (VTTI) 

· Sending or receiving a text takes a driver's eyes from the road for an average of 4.6 seconds, the equivalent-at 55 mph-of driving the length of an entire football field, blind. (VTTI) 

· Headset cell phone use is not substantially safer than hand-held use. (VTTI) 

· Using a cell phone while driving - whether it's hand-held or hands-free delays a driver's reactions as much as having a blood alcohol concentration at the legal limit of .08 percent. (University of Utah) 

· Driving while using a cell phone reduces the amount of brain activity associated with driving by 37%. (Carnegie Mellon) 

